Dear Heart

I’m learning to drag my feet though I’m stuck.
Learning to mask the heart, though it screams.
Listen to the sensible mind, let it win.
Shield up, armour strapped.
For your heart sends a beat to my own.
And I can’t afford to feel nor hope;
‘Cause when I fall, I’m in too deep.
How would I muster the strength to crawl?
It seems the heart doesn’t heal over time,
It merely copes with the scars left behind.
My dear heart, you’ll never be like the first time you fell inlove.

-AG

Leave a Reply

